Collin College Logo
Constitution Day

The Constitution of the United States

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.  (Preamble, the Constitution of the United States)

On September 17, 1787, the United States Constitution was signed by 39 of the 55 delegates attending the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia. Delegates from 12 states had gathered at the Convention with the purpose of revising the nation's first written charter, the Articles of Confederation. Instead, they discarded the nation's first system of government and created a new one they believed would provide the United States with a strong national government to deal with the many challenges of the Confederation. The Constitution was subsequently ratified by each of the original 13 states.

In 2004 Congress designated September 17 as a day to memorialize the Constitution.

Constitution Day at Collin College is sponsored by The Department of Political Science, in partnership with Social and Behavioral Sciences, Student Government Association, Student Life, and the Center for Scholarly and Civic Engagement.


Constitution Day 2015
Thursday, September 17th
Celebrated at all Collin College Campuses
For more information on campus activities, log into and choose Collin College. 
Then click on the Center for Scholarly and Civic Engagement.
Constitution Day Committee
Constitution Day Committee Chair
Glenn David Garrison, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
Collin College
Spring Creek Campus
2800 E. Spring Creek Pkwy.
Plano, TX 75074
tel. 972.881.5815
fax 972.881.5700
Interactive Constitution
Go online and explore the Interactive Constitution!

Center for Scholarly and Civic Engagement
Terry L. Hockenbrough, Ph.D.
Center for Scholarly and Civic Engagement

Deborah Hall, B.A.
Administrative Assistant
Center for Scholarly and Civic Engagement