The AAT – Middle Grades (Grades 4-8) is for grades 4-8 and early childhood-grade 12 special education. The AAT is designed to satisfy the lower-division requirements for bachelor’s degrees leading to initial Texas teacher certification in all grades 4-8 certification areas and EC-12 Special Education. The grade 4-8 certification areas are: generalist; bilingual generalist; ESL generalist; English language arts & reading; English language arts & reading and social studies; mathematics; science; mathematics and science; social studies; other content area teaching fields/academic disciplines/interdisciplinary TBA. Early childhood to grade 12 special education certification areas are: EC-12 special education; other content area teaching fields/academic disciplines/interdisciplinary TBA. This degree is for students who want to teach grades EC-grade 4 and higher.

Required Courses
16  credit hours
EDUC 1301 Introduction to the Teaching Profession
EDUC 2301 Introduction to Special Populations
MATH 1350 Mathematics for Teachers I
(Fundamentals of Mathematics I)
MATH 1351 Mathematics for Teachers II
(Fundamentals of Mathematics II)
XXXX x4xx Additional Lab Science course 1
1. Check with the Collin academic advisor and the receiving   college or university for recommended courses in teaching field prior to registering.
Recommended Electives to complete an AAT
2  credit hours
CDEC 1270 Introduction to Teaching ESL 1
1. Prior to enrolling in the course, please meet with the Education Academic Advisor or the Education Discipline Lead.