The Texas Core

Given the rapid evolution of necessary knowledge and skills and the need to take into account global, national, state, and local cultures, the Texas Core Curriculum (TCC) must ensure that students will develop the essential knowledge and skills they need to be successful in college, in a career, in their communities, and in life. Therefore, , the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board approved a 42 semester credit hour (SCH) core curriculum for Texas public institutions of higher education. Each institution's Texas Core includes a statement of purpose, six core objectives, and nine common component areas.

Statement of Purpose

Through the Texas Core Curriculum, students will gain a foundation of knowledge of human cultures and the physical and natural world, develop principles of personal and social responsibility for living in a diverse world, and advance intellectual and practical skills that are essential for all learning.

Core Objectives and Marketable Skills

Student rubrics were designed to help students learn the behaviors that reflect proficiency for each core objective at an Associate degree level.  Keep these target behaviors in mind when completing coursework to develop the knowledge and skills desired for entry into the workforce or to successfully complete a bachelor degree after transferring to a  university. 

  • Critical Thinking Skills (CT) - creative thinking, innovation, inquiry, and analysis, evaluation and synthesis of information
  • Communication Skills (COM) - effective development, interpretation and expression of ideas through written, oral and visual communication
  • Empirical and Quantitative Skills (EQS) - manipulation and analysis of numerical data or observable facts resulting in informed conclusions
  • Teamwork (TW) - ability to consider different points of view and to work effectively with others to support a shared purpose or goal
  • Social Responsibility(SR) - intercultural competence, knowledge of civic responsibility, and the ability to engage effectively in regional, national, and global communities
  • Personal Responsibility (PR) - ability to connect choices, actions and consequences to ethical decision-making

Foundational Component Areas

There are nine Foundational Component Areas (FCA), including one Component Area Option (CAO). The CAO may provide options for students to choose additional courses from the other FCA. Each FCA has a component description as definition, a set number of Semester Credit Hours (SCH) required for completion of a component, and specified core objectives requirements. The nine FCA are:

  • Communication (6 SCH)
  • Mathematics (3 SCH)
  • Life and Physical Sciences (6 SCH)
  • Language, Philosophy and Culture (3 SCH)
  • Creative Arts (3 SCH)
  • American History (6 SCH)
  • Government/Political Science (6 SCH)
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences (3 SCH)
  • The Component Area Option (6 SCH)

The Table of Foundational Component Areas provides a summary of this information.