The following information is subject to change at any time due to state or immigration laws/regulations.
To be considered a Texas resident for tuition purposes, students must have clearly established a domicile in Texas for the 12 months preceding enrollment. A student's residency classification determines the tuition rate for each course hour of registration. (See the tuition rate table for current tuition costs by residency classification and hours of enrollment.) Documentation of Texas residency is required.
Students on certain types of visas are not eligible for in-state tuition. Permanent
residents are eligible for in-state tuition once the 12-month requirement is met.
Students who have an outstanding balance are subject to being dropped from all classes
for nonpayment of remaining tuition. In some cases, a high school transcript and
a copy of the Texas Driver's License or ID card will be required for admissions.
These items will be used to facilitate the decision about a student's residency status.
- In-county - students who have established Texas residency and who reside in Collin County on or before the census day for the term will be classified as in-county.
- Out-of-county - students who have established Texas residency and who reside outside of Collin County on or before the census day for the term will be classified as out-of-county.
- Out-of-state and out-of-country - students who have not resided in Texas for the 12 months preceding registration will be classified as out-of-state. Most students holding temporary visas will be classified as out-of-country. Contact the Admissions and Records Office for visas eligible for in-state residency.
The responsibility for registering under the proper residency classification is that of the student, and any question concerning the student's right to classification as a resident of Collin County must be clarified prior to enrollment at Collin College. Students not documenting county or state residency prior to the census date for the term will be charged the higher rate. Tuition refunds due to residency changes will only be made for college errors, if documentation was not submitted before census (see the academic calendar for date). Changes of address or name must be reported promptly to the Admissions and Records Office. This enables students to receive registration and other information from various college departments and programs. Changes of address affecting residency should be reported promptly to the Admissions and Records Office.
Students (age 24 and under) who are a dependent of a Texas resident should contact the Admissions and Records Office for more information. Documentation of Texas residency will be required to prove residency.
Documents to Support Residency
Documentation of Texas Residency will be required in order to pay in-state tuition. Generally, the following documents may be used in meeting residency requirements:
Texas public, private, home school, or high school transcript (if enrolled the last 12 months) showing three years of attendance and graduation date
Collin reserves the right to collect additional tuition and fees if it is determined that the student registered under an incorrect residency status or if tuition and fees are increased by the Collin Board of Trustees.
Waivers and Exemptions
Eligibility for waivers and exemptions is determined each term by the Admissions and Records Office or the Financial Aid Department, depending on the specific waiver or exemption. Contact either office for a complete listing and/or more detailed information.
Ad Valorem Waivers Students who have not lived in Texas for the 12 months preceding registration, but who own property in Collin County may be eligible for an ad valorem waiver. A copy of the deed or most recent property tax statement is required for verification. If this waiver is based on a student's (under age 24) parent's property ownership, go to the Admissions and Records Office for the proper form to complete. Once Texas residency has been established (12 months), ad valorem waivers expire and additional residency must be provided. Property owners on most types of temporary visas are not eligible for the ad valorem waiver. Students and/or their parents must generally be U.S. citizens or permanent residents to be eligible for an ad valorem waiver.
Senior Citizens Students age 65 and older (by the first day of the semester) who are Texas residents are eligible for up to six credit hours of tuition exemption per semester on a space-available basis; other fees will be charged per current catalog (tuition/fees). Contact the Admissions and Records Office to verify senior waiver status each term, prior to payment of tuition and fees.