Collin College Logo
Hazlewood Act
Hazlewood Act Benefits

The Hazlewood Act is a State of Texas tuition exemption created to provide education benefits to honorably discharged or separated Texas veterans and to eligible dependent children and spouses of Texas veterans.


While veterans and dependents using VA federal education benefits CAN use Hazlewood concurrently, with Chapter 33 and Chapter 31, the value of the two combined cannot exceed the student's tuition and fees.

The 83rd Texas Legislative Session authorized new provisions which are effective with the Fall 2014 semester. See "NEW" provisions below.


Eligibility requirements for Veterans are as follows:

  • Were either:
     - Texas residents at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, or
     - Designated Texas as their Home of Record, or
     - Entered the service in Texas
  • Have served more than 181 days of active military duty (excluding training), as indicated by "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d)) on the DD214
     
  • Have received an honorable discharge of separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions
     
  • Are not in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas, and
     
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support 
  • NEW!  Effective Fall 2014, veterans must be making satisfactory academic progress (SAP) in accordance with the institutions financial aid policy.  Specifically, this means that veterans must:

                 - maintain a financial aid GPA of at least a 2.0 (Financial Aid GPA includes grades from
                   developmental courses), and

                 - cannot have a maximum number of attempted hours in excess of 30 hours over 
                   and above the published program length. 
 
                   For example, a student is in the AA Liberal Arts degree program. This program requires  
                   60 credit hours to complete. The student would be allowed up to 90 credit hours to
                   complete the program.) Students' prior credit, both internal (from Collin) and external
                   (from other institutions) must be evaluated to see what credits can be applied towards
                   the degree. These credits are counted in the total number of eligible credits allowed the
                   student. 
 
           SAP is run at the end of EACH semester.
  • NEW!  In order to evaluate prior credit, each veteran student must submit a degree request form and have degree/credits evaluated (unless they’re currently using GI benefits).
          Please realize that all transcripts from prior schools MUST be submitted to the college
          before
 a degree evaluation can be performed.       
 
          If you have not yet submitted a degree request form for Hazlewood, even if you have used
          Hazlewood benefits at Collin previously, please do so for the Fall 2014 semester.  See link below
          for the form.
 

Note: Chapter 33 and 31 Veterans who are eligible for Hazlewood can use Hazlewood to "stack" on top of their 33/31 benefits to pay any remainder of tuition and fees ONLY not paid by Chapter 33/31 benefits.

       Note: Veterans who are granted their first Hazlewood exemption beginning fall, 2011 must reside
       in 
Texas during the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed. This requirement 
       does 
not apply to veterans who received the exemption prior to the 2011-2012 academic year.


Eligibility requirements for Children and Spouses of Veterans who are 100% disabled for reasons of employability:

  • Are the child or spouse of a veteran who was either:  

               -  A Texas resident at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, or
               - Designated Texas as their Home of Record, or
               - Entered the service in Texas, and

               - Served more than 181 days of active military duty (excluding training), as indicated by
                 "net 
active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d)) on the DD214, and
 
                      - Received an honorable discharge of separation or a general discharge under honorable 
                        conditions, and

              - Is rated by the VA as 100% disabled for reasons of employability

           The child or spouse:

  • Must be a resident of Texas as of the term or semester in which they enroll 
  • Must not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas 
  • Must enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support 
  • For each subsequent semester that they apply, are making satisfactory academic progress (SAP) per the institution's financial aid policy. Specifically, this means that the dependent must:

                     - maintain a financial aid GPA of at least a 2.0 (Financial Aid GPA includes grades from 
                       developmental courses), and

                     - cannot have a maximum number of attempted hours in excess of 30 hours  
                        over and above the published program length.  

                  For example, a student is in the AA Liberal Arts degree program. This program requires  
                  60 credit hours to complete. The student would be allowed up to 90 credit hours to
                  complete the program.) Students' prior credit, both internal (from Collin) and external
                  (from other institutions) must be evaluated to see what credits can be applied towards
                  the degree. These credits are counted in the total number of eligible credits allowed the
                  student. 
 
           SAP is run at the end of EACH semester.
 
  • NEW!  In order to evaluate prior credit, each dependent student must submit a degree request form and have degree/credits evaluated (unless they’re currently using Chapter 33 benefits).
           Please realize that all transcripts from prior schools MUST be submitted to the college
           before
a degree evaluation can be performed.       
 
           If you have not yet submitted a degree request form for Hazlewood, even if you have used
           Hazlewood benefits at Collin previously, please do so for the Fall 2014 semester.  See link
           below for form.

Note: Chapter 33 Dependents who are eligible for Hazlewood can use Hazlewood to "stack" on top 
of their 33 benefits to pay any remainder of tuition and fees ONLY not paid by Chapter 33 benefits.

The benefit may not be used for correspondence courses unless the courses are part of the student's degree plan.

 

Eligibility requirements for Children and Spouses of Veterans who are MIA, KIA, or died of a service-related illness or injury:

  • Are the child or spouse of a veteran who was either: 

        - ATexas resident at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, or    
        - Designated Texas as their Home of Record
    , or    
        - Entered the service in Texas, and
               - Served more than 181 days of active military duty (excluding training), as indicated by
                 "net 
active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d)) on the DD214, and 

                      - Received an honorable discharge of separation or a general discharge under 
                         honorable 
conditions, and

               - Was a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, Texas National Guard, or Texas Air National Guard
                  who was killed in action (KIA), missing in action (MIA), died in service or whose death is
                 documented to be a direct result of injuries or illness connected with service in the armed
                 forces.

                The child or spouse:

  • Must be a resident of Texas as of the term or semester in which they enroll
  • Must not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas
  • Must enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support

Note: Chapter 33 Dependents who are eligible for Hazlewood can use Hazlewood to "stack" on top of their 33 benefits to pay any remainder of tuition and fees ONLY not paid by Chapter 33 benefits.

The benefit may not be used for correspondence courses unless the courses are part of the student's degree plan.

This category of Hazlewood students (and only this category) are exempt from the SAP rules.



Transferability of Benefits (Legacy Program)

Eligible veterans (see above for veteran eligibility requirements) may assign unused hours of exemption eligibility to a child under certain conditions.  To be eligible, the child must:

  • Be a Texas resident
  • Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year
  • Be 25 years or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition) and
  • Must enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support
  • For each subsequent semester that they apply, are making satisfactory academic progress (SAP) per the institution's financial aid policy. Specifically, this means that the dependent must:

                        - maintain a financial aid GPA of at least a 2.0 (Financial Aid GPA includes grades from
                          developmental courses), and

                        - cannot have a maximum number of attempted hours over and above the published
                          program length. 

                   For example, a student is in the AA Liberal Arts degree program. This program requires  
                   60 credit hours to complete. The student would be allowed up to 60 credit hours to
                   complete the program.) Students' prior credit, both internal (from Collin) and external
                   (from other institutions) must be evaluated to see what credits can be applied towards
                   the degree. These credits are counted in the total number of eligible credits allowed the
                   student. 
 
                  Important: Because of the above rule, if a Legacy student withdraws from classes, fails
                  classes or takes classes NOT on their degree plan, their Hazlewood eligibility will expire
                   BEFORE completing their degree. It is imperative that these students only take classes on
                  their degree plan and that they do everything within their power to be successful, including
                  passing their classes and not withdrawing unless there are serious mitigating   
                  circumstances (described by the State as death of an immediate family member, critical
                  illness or injury of the student or of a person for who the student is the primary caretaker,
                  call to active duty, etc.)
 
            SAP is run at the end of EACH semester.
  • NEW!  In order to evaluate prior credit, each dependent student must submit a degree request form and have degree/credits evaluated (unless they’re currently using Chapter 33 benefits).
           Please realize that all transcripts from prior schools MUST be submitted to the college  
           before
a degree evaluation can be performed.       
 
           If you have not yet submitted a degree request form for Hazlewood, even if you have used
           Hazlewood benefits at Collin previously, please do so for the Fall 2014 semester.  See link
           below for form.


Note: Chapter 33 Veterans who are eligible for Hazlewood can use Hazlewood to "stack" on top of their 33 benefits to pay any remainder of tuition and fees ONLY not paid by Chapter 33 benefits.

Veterans who transfer benefits to an eligible dependent must  reside in Texas during the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed.

If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a veteran may
re-assign the unused hours that are available to another dependent child. Only 1 person may use benefits at a time.  All parties only have 150 hours between them, not each.


Veteran's spouses are not eligible to receive a transfer of unused hours.


Award Amount

Eligible veterans, their children and spouses may receive an exemption from the payment of tuition, dues and fees, excluding deposit fees, student services fees, and any fees or charges for books, lodging, board or clothing for up to 150 semester credit hours.

Important: Please check with the cashier's office after Hazlewood posts each semester to pay the student services fee.  If you do not pay this fee, you could be dropped for non-payment.


Application Process

1) 
To apply for Hazlewood benefits, or to transfer unused hours to an eligible child, students must
      complete the following:


        Texas Hazlewood Act Exemption Application

  • Veterans applying for the exemption for their own use:   
                 
                    -  The Term and Year must be filled in
     
                    -  Sections labeled, "I am applying as:" and, "I am:" must be filled in
                    -  Parts A, C and D; all spaces must be completed
                    -  Form must be signed and dated

          Note: Chapter 33 students MUST be enrolled at the time they submit their application because we 
          have to calculate what percentage of tuition and fees the Hazlewood exemption will pay for.

            Any other category (non-Chapter 33) students do NOT have to be enrolled to submit application.
 

  • Dependents and Spouses with their own benefits (i.e. NOT Legacy):

                                    -  The Term and Year must be filled in 
                                    -  Sections labeled, "I am applying as:" and, "I am:" must be filled in
                                    -  Parts A (with the exception of veteran's ID number and the address, phone and
                                       email IF the veteran is deceased), B, C and D; all spaces must be completed
                                    -  Form must be signed and dated (does NOT need veteran's signature)

            Note: Chapter 33 students MUST be enrolled at the time they submit their application because we
            have to calculate what percentage of tuition and fees the Hazlewood exemption will pay for.

            Any other category (non-Chapter 33) students do NOT have to be enrolled to submit application.
 

  •  Legacy students:
                                   -  The Term and Year must be filled in               
                                   -  Sections labeled, "I am applying as:" and, "I am:" must be filled in                  
                                   -  Parts A (with the exception of veteran's ID number), B, C, D and E; all spaces 
                                       must be completed                  
                                   -  Form must be signed and dated by BOTH parties (student and veteran)

            Note: Chapter 33 students MUST be enrolled at the time they submit their application because we
            have to calculate what percentage of tuition and fees the Hazlewood exemption will pay for.

            Any other category (non-Chapter 33) students do NOT have to be enrolled to submit application.
         

 2)  AND provide the following:

  • Provide a copy of the veteran's DD-214 (Member 4 copy.)
  • Submit a Certificate of Eligibility from the VA (Veterans and Dependents alike) showing the value of the federal tuition and fees benefits (Anyone who served AFTER September 11, 2001). Certificate of Eligibility may be obtained by completing an application on the Veterans Online Application (VONAPP) website at http://www.vabenefits.vba.va.gov/vonapp/default.asp 

          -  If the veteran's final discharge is prior to 9/11/2001, the certificate of eligibility is not required.
  • If the veteran died while in service: Report of Casualty, Form DD 1300
  • If the veteran is deceased (not service connected): Death Certificate (for a Legacy transfer by legal guardian
  • If the veteran is totally disabled or rated 100% disabled for reasons of employability: You must have a current disability ratings letter from the VA indicating that rating
  • If you are not the veteran, you must provide relationship documentation: Submit either a marriage license (for spouses), a birth certificate, adoption paperwork or a recent tax return showing dependent status (for children). 
  • Veterans must reside in the State of Texas during the term the exemption will be used by themselves and in the case of transfer of benefits to an eligible child (Legacy).
     
  • Hazlewood Online Database Registration:  To comply with the Federal Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) requirements, all applicants (Veteran and dependents) must register into the Hazlewood online database to use the Hazlewood exemption.  In addition, at least once each year, all Hazlewood recipients must provide a copy of the Hazlewood hours used which can be obtained through the student's Hazlewood account. To register or log into your account, go here: https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/hsh/students/

 3)   For the Fall 2014 semester, ALL current AND new Hazlewood students (with the exception of
       Dependents and Spouses of Veterans who are MIA, KIA or died of a service-related injury or illness)
       MUST submit a degree request form to have prior credit evaluated.

       After Fall 2014, only new Hazlewood students (with the exception category) or students changing
       their degree will have to submit a degree request form.

       Click here for the degree request form.   Fill out the top of the form completely and then check 
       1 and only 1 degree or certificate program.


For All Hazlewood Exemption Students

Renewal Each Semester:    All students must apply for Hazlewood each semester they intend to use the tuition exemption.

For the renewal application, click here

Note on SAP:  Please realize that each subsequent semester, your exemption MAY be posted prior
to SAP running for that semester. If, upon the SAP program running, you 
are NOT meeting the SAP requirements, the exemption will be removed from your account and you will be responsible for paying your tuition and fees out-of-pocket.

Submitting in a Timely Fashion: Please realize that the Hazlewood Exemption takes time to process, especially with all the changes. Please submit  your application as early as possible to prevent delays.  If you submit your application a day or two or even a week before payment deadline, we cannot guarantee it will be posted to your account in time to hold your classes.  


Hazlewood Hours Account:

To create an account for your Hazlewood benefits, or to log in to your account to obtain your hours used,
go here:  https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/hsh/students/

 
Legislature:

To see the actual Hazlewood Act rules effective Fall 2014, click here.   

To visit the Texas Veterans Commission website and read more about the Hazlewood Exemption,
go to: http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx