The Cotton & Rural History Conferences
Held yearly each spring at the
Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum, Greenville, Texas

Scenes from the 21st annual meeting, April 22, 2017

Andrew Torget
(Photo by Kay Mizell)
Scholars' Panel
Kay Mizell, Chair
Scott Yarbrough, Poet
Jeffrey Littlejohn, Historian
Eyewitness Panel
  Jim Conrad, Chair Judy Silman, Eyewitness Mike Adkisson, Eyewitness  
Sam Tullock, Chair

Keynote Speaker: Andrew Torget, Historian


The conference is co-sponsored by Collin College and the Audie Murphy American Cotton Museum.

Advance reservations may be made by contacting the Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum, 600 Interstate 30 East, Greenville, Texas 75403. The museum can be reached by telephone at (903) 454-1990 or (903) 450-4502. Please call one week in advance to reserve your registration. There is a $12 registration fee to cover the barbecue lunch.               

Past Cotton and Rural History Conferences

For 21 years this gathering has benefited from the generosity of notable and award-winning scholars who have presented their work in the fields of history, folklore, and the oral narrative.  They have included J. Brett Adams, Jacques D. Bagur, Bruce Baker, Sven Beckert, Amanda B. Biles, D. Clayton Brown, Walter Buenger, the late Robert A. Calvert, Jr., Randolph B. "Mike" Campbell, Adrienne Caughfield, James H. Conrad, Edward Countryman, Light T. Cummins, Pamela Gaiter, Karen Gerhardt, James C. Giesen, Chris Grooms, Eric Gruver, John Hanners, Paul Harvey, Jr., John Jackson, Melissa Johnson, Deborah Kilgore, Susan Lanning, Gwendolyn Lawe, Deborah Liles, Jeffrey Littlejohn, John Lundberg, Michelle Mears, Kay Mizell, Lois E. Myers, Nick Nelson, Kristopher Paschal, Deborah Porter, Jeri Reed, Debra Reid, Rebecca Sharpless, Cameron Sinclair, Thad Sitton, the late James M. Smallwood, Paul E. Sturdevant, Susanne Summers, Carol Taylor, Andres Tijerina, Andrew Torget, Stephen A. Townsend, Sam Tullock, Leland Turner, Keith Volanto, Jeannie Whayne, Patricia Wingate, Lee Winniford, Dan K. Utley, Scott Yarbrough and Nancy Beck Young.    

Presenters have represented colleges, universities, libraries and museums from across Texas and the nation including Austin College, the University of Arkansas, Baylor University, Burton Cotton Gin Museum, Collin College, the University of Central Oklahoma, Eastern Illinois University, Harvard University, Hill College, the Heritage Farmstead Museum, the University of Houston, the University of Illinois-Chicago, A. C. McMillan African-American Museum, Mississippi State University, University of Newcastle (UK), New Mexico Junior College, the University of North Texas, Oklahoma State University, Paris Junior College, Sam Houston State University, St. Edward's University, Southern Methodist University, Texas A&M University - College Station, Texas A&M University - Commerce, Texas A&M University Kingsville, Texas Christian University, Texas Woman's University and the Weslaco Bi-Cultural Museum.

Kyle Wilkison and James H. Conrad co-chair the annual event and welcome paper proposals from historians working in the fields of rural, social or agricultural history.  Please submit proposals via email to each address listed below:   

James H. Conrad, Ph.D.
Dr. Conrad is the retired University Archivist and Director of the Oral History Program at Texas A&M University-Commerce.

He can be reached at:

Back to History Department

Kyle Wilkison, Ph.D.
Professor of History
Department of History
Collin College
Plano, Texas 75074
(972) 881-5834
FAX: (972) 881-5700

Back to Wilkison Home Page

Allen, Frisco, McKinney, Plano and Rockwall, Texas
Copyright 2017 Collin College. All Rights Reserved.
Page maintained by Kyle Wilkison