Collin College Logo
Designers Council Thanks Collin College With Award

Designers Council Thanks CCCC With Award

April 26, 2000 -- The North Texas Chapter of the IPC Designers' Council, a professional association, thanked Collin County Community College with an award at the CCCCD Board of Trustees meeting in Frisco April 25.

Andy Kowalewski, chapter president, and Doug Boone, officer at large of the council, were joined by CCCC instructor Glenn Wells in presenting a plaque to John Baltzer, dean of engineering technology. The plaque recognized the college “for its initial response to an industry need for designer education” and was signed by Gerry Ferrari, the council's executive director, and Robert M. Wolfe, education committee chair.

“Collin County Community College has been one of the leaders in electronics design programs. Its program is a model for colleges and universities around the world,” said Kowalewski.

The group also presented a plaque to Baltzer “to honor and thank him for his innovative leadership of the electronics design program.”

“John Baltzer is our champion,” commented Wells, who is education officer of the North Texas chapter.

The IPC Designers Council is an international association with 2,200 members and is the keeper of the standards for the electronics industry in assembly, fabrication and design, Wells said.

Collin College serves more than 46,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.