Collin College Logo
Honor Society Chapter Wins Regional Awards

Honor Society Chapter Wins Regional Awards

MARCH 26 , 2002-Collin County Community College District's Alpha Mu Tau chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges, has won numerous awards at the 2002 Texas Regional Convention in Irving.

  • Alpha Mu Tau was named a Five-Star Chapter, the highest level of achievement in the organization, and a level that Alpha Mu Tau has maintained for several years. The Five-Star Chapter Award is based on the overall quality of the program and on the combined quality of several essays and a chronology. Students write essays about what they do in each PTK area--the four hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship--every year, and a single chronology listing all events they have accomplished during that same time period.
  • The chapter's overall performance in all four hallmarks was awarded a Top Texas Chapter plaque, one of 15 so recognized among the state's 80 chapters.
  • It received the Pinnacle Scholarship Award. This award recognizes the chapter for a 10-or-more percent increase in membership over the past year.
  • It received the Communications award in recognition of outstanding achievement in the reporting of chapter news and projects.
  • Chapter President Lana Waltrip was inducted into the Members Hall of Honor and received an engraved gold medallion.
  • Chris Stevens, manager of Albertson's in McKinney, won the Tejas award as an outstanding friend of CCCCD's Alpha Mu Tau chapter. He was presented with a plaque in recognition for his contributions and support. Only one Tejas Award was presented in the entire statewide region of PTK.
  • The regional convention was held February 28 - March 3 at the Las Colinas Marriott Hotel. Approximately 400 regional members and advisors attended. CCCCD's Alpha Mu Tau chapter was represented by four student officers: Lana Waltrip, Angelica Killion, Trey Polhemus, Tanya Gleason; two faculty advisors: Daphne Hall, professor of environmental science, and Washington James, professor of computer science; and student chapter member Trevor Hall.