Collin College Logo
CCCCD Honors Student And Community Leaders At Student Leadership Academy Inaugural Class Kickoff

CCCCD Honors Student And Community Leaders  At Student Leadership Academy Inaugural Class Kickoff

SEPT. 16, 2002 - Collin County Community College District kicked off the fall semester with a focus on leadership. The district honored 23 students participating in the inaugural class of the Student Leadership Academy and two community leaders at a luncheon recently. The Student Leadership Academy is a unique nine-month class designed to encourage students in leadership, integrity, professional development, scholarship and service. The first-of-its kind offered at a Texas community college, it is modeled after the Leadership Plano, Leadership Frisco, and Leadership Allen and Citizenship McKinney prototypes.

At the luncheon, four students were presented with $500 leadership scholarships named in honor of noted community leaders Cindy Brinker Simmons and Texas Senator Florence Shapiro. Both Ms. Brinker Simmons and Senator Shapiro have inspired many through their leadership and stand as role models in education, civic engagement and community support.

Ms. Brinker Simmons, principal of Brinker Communications, Inc, was a 1985 graduate of Leadership Dallas. She has been recognized for her many contributions and achievements and has earned such honors as the 1994 "Woman of the Year" award by Today's Dallas Magazine and the 2002 "Woman of Achievement" award presented by the Miss America Scholarship, to name a few. Ms. Brinker Simmons also wrote, "Little Mo's Legacy, A Mother's Lessons, A Daughter's Story," that chronicles the lessons her mother taught her in life and in death.

Senator Shapiro serves as chair of the Senate State Affairs committee and is a member of the Education, Intergovernmental Relations and Redistricting Committees. Recently, Senator Shapiro was appointed to serve on the Joint Select Committee on School Finance. She has earned numerous honors including service awards from the Texas Civil Justice League, Texans Against Lawsuit Abuse and being named a "Rising Star" by the Dallas Morning News.

Students admitted into the Student Leadership Academy met comprehensive selection criteria. Each applicant submitted a current academic transcript; three letters of recommendation; a listing of community service, campus organization or volunteer activities in which they participated; a listing of honors, awards or personal accomplishments and an essay describing why they were interested in participating in the Student Leadership Academy. In addition, students signed a "Contract of Agreement" explaining the program's expectations of students.

"Cultivating future leaders begins with challenging academics and opportunities to awaken leadership potential," said Cary Israel, CCCCD president. "The Student Leadership Academy provides each student the chance to foster the leader within themselves, and we are thrilled to be the first community college in Texas to offer a quality program of such promise."

The inaugural class of the Student Leadership Academy:

Brenda Allen; Stacy Arias; Jason Che' Boles; Daphne Brown; Christina Burroughs; Derek Dodd; Nathan Dunkel; Megan Folk, Senator Florence Shapiro Leadership Scholarship recipient; Stephanie Ford; Trevor Hall; Dale Hooper; Joseph Ingram; Lori Janise; Treon Kranz, Cindy Brinker Simmons Leadership Scholarship recipient; James Kudiza; Tom Mokake, Jr;. Michael Mosley; James Nunn; Rodrigo Ramos; Robert Sturm; Shadd Taylor, Cindy Brinker Simmons Leadership Scholarship recipient; Sandra Wilson, Senator Florence Shapiro Leadership Scholarship recipient; and Ashley York.

For more information about the college's Student Leadership Academy, call Dr. Belinda Newman, CCCCD Central Park Campus provost, at (972) 548-6803.