Collin College Logo
CCCCD Students Receive Scholarship From The American Association Of University Women

CCCCD Students Receive Scholarship From The American Association Of University Women

May 16, 2003 - Six Collin County Community College District (CCCCD) students received scholarships from the American Association of University Women (AAUW). The presentation included two scholarships in memory of late college personnel-Trustee Jim Biggerstaff, and Public Relations Director Judy Jones.

"Spanning all age ranges, these women represent the future of our workforce. They are truly exceptional individuals, and I believe they will be forces of change in the business world, mirroring the drive they showed in furthering their education," stated Cary Israel, CCCCD president. "The recipients of these two special scholarships are fine examples of the professional qualities, characteristics, determination and leadership that were exhibited by Judy Jones and Jim Biggerstaff during their tenure with the college,"

This year's recipient's include Lauretta Shokler (Frisco), winner of the Judy Jones Memorial Scholarship; Susan Wail (Plano), Tanya Kendrick (Plano), and Tara Nelsen (Plano), winners of the Collin County Scholarship for a Mature Woman; and Grisell Hawit (Plano) and Shawna Watkins (Plano), winners of the Biggerstaff CCCCD Scholarship.

Dedicated to promoting education and equity for all women and girls, lifelong education, and positive societal change, AAUW's educational foundation provides millions of dollars in fellowships, grants and awards for outstanding women.

Collin County Community College District serves more than 38,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs in a wide range of disciplines. In addition, the CCCCD is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.