Collin College Logo
CCCCD Honors Student And Community Leaders

CCCCD Honors Student And Community Leaders At Student Leadership Academy Class Celebration

September 12, 2003 - Collin County Community College District saluted the Student Leadership Academy class of 2004 during a celebration luncheon today. At the luncheon, the academy honored two community leaders and awarded a $500 scholarship in each of their names--Harvey Fishero, CEO of Medical Center of Plano and Mark Wallace, Fire Chief of the city of McKinney. Texas State Senator Florence Shapiro, one of the first SLA honorees, helped launch the inaugural academy last year. This year, Senator Shapiro presented two scholarships she sponsored.

The Student Leadership Academy is a rigorous leadership experience unique to Collin County Community College. It is the only such academy among community colleges in Texas. The academy is modeled after the Leadership Plano, Leadership Frisco, Leadership Allen and Citizenship McKinney prototypes.

This year, the average student grade point average (GPA) is 3.6 with an average number of 50 hours completed. Three students have 4.0 GPAs.

"The Student Leadership Academy is a challenging, comprehensive program thatprovides students with the tools to develop leadership skills," said Cary Israel, CCCCD president. "I look forward to the accomplishments, insights and growth that will shape this year's class as they learn from exceptional professors and community leaders."

The academy is a nine-month speech class designed to encourage students in leadership, integrity, professional development, scholarship and service. The academy curriculum seeks to foster leadership skills among students through lecture, guest speakers, student facilitation and team projects. Students will earn three credit hours upon completion.

Admission to the Student Leadership Academy is highly selective. Each applicant submitted a current academic transcript; three letters of recommendation; a listing of community service, campus organization or volunteer activities in which they participated; a listing of honors, awards or personal accomplishments and an essay describing why they were interested in participating in the Student Leadership Academy.

"We are proud of the 21 students who gave wholeheartedly and graduated from this program last year," said Sam Roach, chairman of the CCCCD board of trustees. "We know that this year's class will meet the academic challenges with distinction, and they will be prepared to lead our communities and businesses with strength and character."

Scholarship recipients recognized
Juan Gallera and Matthew Rodgers, both of Plano, received the Mark Wallace Leadership Scholarship and the Senator Florence Shapiro Leadership Scholarship, respectively.

James Ogden of McKinney received the Dr. Debra St. John Student Leadership Academy scholarship.

Sydney Portilla-Diggs and Phillipus Strydom, both of Garland, received the Senator Florence Shapiro Leadership Scholarship and the Harvey Fishero Leadership Scholarship, respectively.

Student Leadership Academy class of 2004
Allen-Przemek Cala; Dallas-Michelle Petersen; Farmersville-Joanna Haddad; Fairview-Michael Kunen; Frisco-Jeffrey Speight; Garland-Sydney Portilla-Diggs and Phillipus Strydom; Pilot Point-Shaun Henry; Plano-Sherlyn Baker, Nicole Barbour, Natalie Davis, Michelle Deja, Juan Gallera, Shadan Kishi, Matthew Rodgers, Elizabeth Sansom, Gregory Sherp, Gary Skoblionok, and Heather Sorensen; McKinney-John Huber, James Ogden, Brad Ratliff and Evelin Rincon; Van Alstyne-Rickey Lummus; and Wylie-Teri Kissamore.

Collin County Community College District serves more than 38,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs in a wide range of disciplines. In addition, the CCCCD is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.