Collin College Logo
CCCCD Welcomes Newest Members of Student Leadership Academy


Sept. 9, 2004 - Collin County Community College District (CCCCD) proudly introduced the 25 newest members of its annual Student Leadership Academy (SLA).

The academy, in its third year, is a semester-long leadership class (LEAD1301) that provides intense leadership training for students as well as academic credit for their participation in the program. During an induction ceremony, the college gave scholarships in the names of Richard M. Abernathy, president of the board of directors of Abernathy, Roeder, Boyd & Joplin, P.C.; Nancy Boyd,district director of counseling and guidance for Plano ISD; and Dr. Debra St. John, professor of political science, to three students in the academy, Devin Scott Gulliams, Pamela Veltman and Latonya Woodhouse.

"I am very excited about this program and grateful for what it does for our students," said Sam Roach, chairmanof the CCCCD board of trustees. "We know that these students will meet and exceed the academic challenges put before them, and they will be better prepared to lead us into the future with strength and character."

Launched in September 2002 and one of the first of its kind in the nation, the SLA was modeled after several community-based leadership programs, such as Leadership Plano, Citizenship McKinney and Leadership Frisco.

"I think having this program is a major benefit for our students and the community," said Cary Israel, CCCCD president. "The Student Leadership Academy is challenging, comprehensive, and it provides students with the tools necessary to shape them into exceptional leaders."

CCCCD proudly presents the Student Leadership Academy class of 2004-2005: Deana Bell of Carrollton; Pamela Veltman of Denton; Catalin Alupoaicei, Namoi Perry, Latonya Woodhouse and Ana Zenteno of Frisco; Cynthia Chennault of Garland; Adel Bailey of McKinney; Helen Courrege of Nevada; Steven Chen, Melissa Cole, Devin Gulliams, Mahzael Habibi-Nasab, Nadine Hennig, Andrew Lenox, Paul Morris, Bradley Olson, Sofia Ortiz, Allen San Juan, Shahina Shad, Kevin Xu and Charlotte Young of Plano; Mehreen Kouser of Richardson; Art Campbell of Rowlett; and Tara Pereira of Wylie.

Past participants in SLA have included Stacy Anne Arias, who now sits on the board of trustees for Collin County Community College District; Michael Kunen, who is taking pre-med classes at Tulane University in New Orleans; and Sydney Portilla-Diggs, who was named to the 2003-2004 All-Texas Academic Team of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for college students.

The academy is designed to encourage students in leadership, integrity, professional development, scholarship and service. The curriculum includes lectures, guest speakers, student facilitation and team projects. Course topics deal with different aspects of leadership, such as conflict resolution, time-management skills, goal-setting and team-building.

Past speakers have included Sylvia Burrow, EDS office of ethics and business conduct; Florence Shapiro, state senator; Cindy Brinker Simmons, principal of Brinker Communications, Inc.; and Todd Whitthorne, president of Cooper Concepts, a division of The Cooper Aerobic's Center in Dallas.

Admission to the Student Leadership Academy is highly competitive. To apply, students must have completed at least six college credit hours while maintaining a 3.0 GPA. Each applicant submits a current academic transcript; three letters of recommendation; a listing of community service, campus organization or volunteer activities in which they participated; a listing of honors, awards or personal accomplishments and an essay describing why they were interested in participating in the Student Leadership Academy.

Collin County Community College District serves nearly 40,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs in a wide range of disciplines. In addition, the CCCCD is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and workforce development.

Collin College serves more than 46,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.