Collin College Logo
Collin Guitar Students Bag Honors at Contest


May 11, 2005 -- Collin County Community College District (Collin) guitar students strummed and picked their way to success at a recent competition.

The One O'clock Guitar Ensemble competed in the 4th annual UTB/TSC Guitar Ensemble Festival April 6-9. Collin placed first in the large ensemble category, second in the quartet category and first in the trio category. The trio also took home sweepstakes for the best overall ensemble in the college/university division.

Collin competed against colleges and universities from Texas, Nevada and California including Richland College, Texas Tech University, University of California at Santa Cruz and Texas A&M at Corpus Christi.

The One O'clock Guitar Ensemble consists of Jay Armstrong, Daniel Bagley, Bryan Burns, Andrew Combs, Brandon Durham-Raley, Daisuke Haruki, Charles Heasley, Glenda Heisick, David Lamont, Shih-chun Lee, Teresa Morris, Daniel Perez, Aaron Ringo and Christopher Uecker.

Members of the quartet are Jay Armstrong, Andrew Combs, Charles Heasley and David Lamont.

Members of the trio are Bryan Burns, Andrew Combs and James Wilder.

Collin College serves more than 46,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.