Collin College Logo

Collin Announces Second Ace Class

The second Academy for Collegiate Excellence is (back row, from left� Janet Sheppard, Lynda Gates, William Slater, Debra St. John and Lydia Gober; (front row, from left) Julie Turnbow, Valerie Smith, Rosemary Karr, LeCrecia Robinson and Roseanne Ciccia.

September 19, 2005 – Collin County Community College District’s (Collin) Academy for Collegiate Excellence (ACE) is gearing up for class No. 2.

After graduating its first class in May, ACE will introduce 10 faculty and staff as the second class. Class No. 2 is Rosanne Ciccia of Denton, Lynda Gates of Plano, Lydia Gober of The Colony, Rosemary Karr of Plano, LeCrecia Robinson of The Colony, Janet Sheppard of Plano, William “Bill” Slater of Plano, Valerie Smith of McKinney, Debra St. John of McKinney and Julie Turnbow of Richardson.

The nine-month ACE program was established in order to identify and cultivate leaders within Collin. Through the program, the faculty and staff are prepared for future leadership opportunities by learning how to develop performance and strategic goals, understand the aspects of board and president relations, learn multi-tasking, budget and cost center management, legal issues in higher education and much more.

ACE participants must have a master’s degree, three years working in higher education and be a full-time Collin faculty or staff member.

Collin County Community College District serves more than 40,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. In addition, Collin is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.