Collin College Logo

Collin and Texas Tech Sign Agreement Allowing Consecutive Admission To Both Institutions

May 18, 2006 -- Officials from Collin County Community College District (Collin) and Texas Tech University (Texas Tech) yesterday signed a consecutive admission agreement giving qualified students a guarantee of admission to Texas Tech. The program will be called "Red Raider Bound."

Collin County Community College District (Collin) officials welcome Texas Tech University as the sixth university partner to join the admissions agreement program. Seated in the front row: (from left) Chairman Sam Roach, Collin Board of Trustees, President Jon Whitmore, Texas Tech University and President Cary Israel, Collin. Back row: (from left) Collin Board of Trustees Dr. Bob Collins, Tino Trujillo, Brenda Willard Goodell, Mac Hendricks, Cindy Bauge, Dr. David Hammel and Stacy Arias. (Photo Nick Young/Collin photographer).

Dr. Jon Whitmore, president of Texas Tech, Sam Roach, chairman of the Collin Board of Trustees, and Dr. Cary Israel, president of Collin, joined alumni, students and administrators from both institutions at a recent signing ceremony in the conference center at Collin's Spring Creek Campus.

This partnership allows students to complete the first two years of their degrees while at Collin with the guidance of a Texas Tech advisor to ensure the seamless transfer of credits. In fact, Collin students meeting the transferable hours and grade point average requirements are guaranteed admission to Texas Tech.

Texas Tech will make available to Collin students application information and deadlines about scholarships. The university also will guarantee Red Raider Bound students the opportunity to attend the earliest orientation/registration, held each April, for summer and/or fall classes. Collin and university officials say the agreement clears the path for students who are working toward bachelor's degrees.

"One of the key issues facing students and parents in higher education today is affordability," Dr. Israel said. "How long it takes to graduate affects the cost of a college education. We believe it is very important to obtain an undergraduate degree in four years rather than the national average of 5.2 years. Accordingly, this unique partnership will help reduce time to a degree. We welcome Texas Tech University as our newest educational partner."

"Texas Tech University is proud to partner with Collin County Community College, and we look forward to welcoming Collin students to our campus," Dr. Whitmore said.

In order to increase the number of Texas students completing bachelor's degrees and to help meet the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board's "Closing the Gaps" goals, Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and Collin also have agreed to participate in the Pathway Partnership, which encourages both partners to share information about enrollment, admissions policies, recruitment events and scholarship opportunities.

"A college education is a must in today's society," said Chairman Roach. "We believe in keeping higher education convenient and accessible for all residents of Collin County. Our goal is to help students finish their degrees on time and within a reasonable cost through a comprehensive Collin education. We look forward to collaborating with Texas Tech University."

Texas Tech will have a representative on Collin campuses. Each fall and spring semester, the university will sponsor a visitation program for Collin students interested in transferring to Texas Tech. In addition, the university will develop a plan to offer Collin students "retroactive associate's degrees."

Collin broke ground in 2000 when it signed its first dual admission agreement. The college now holds admission partnerships with six universities -- The University of Texas at Dallas, Southern Methodist University, Texas Woman's University, the University of North Texas, Texas A&M University - Commerce and, the newest partner, Texas Tech University. To date, more than 400 students have participated in Collin's dual admissions programs.

Texas Tech University is a comprehensive public research institution comprising 12 colleges and schools and offering 118 undergraduate degrees, 104 master's degrees and 59 doctoral degrees. Texas Tech serves more than 28,000 students, including 23,000 undergraduate and 5,000 graduate and professional students. The main campus is located in Lubbock, a city of more than 200,000 in West Texas. The university also has academic centers in Abilene, Amarillo, Fredericksburg, Junction and Seville, Spain.

Collin County Community College District serves more than 40,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and workforce development.