Collin College Logo
Collin Awards Scholarships

Collin Awards Scholarships

August 10, 2006 - More than 700 people were recently serenaded by Miss Texas at Collin County Community College District (Collin) Foundation's annual scholarship award ceremony. Miss Texas, Shilah Phillips, a former college scholarship recipient was among many outstanding Collin students to take the stage including Chang Young Jang, who recently won first place in a national mathematics competition, and Eddy Trejo, national League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Man of the Year.

More than 250 Collin students were awarded scholarships at the event. According to Paula Roman, Collin Foundation executive director, more than 50 percent of students coming to the college request financial assistance.

For more information, visit the website at

View the event web gallery

To donate or receive a scholarship, visit the Collin Foundation at or call 972-881-5611.

Scholarship recipient Kristin Sale (left, McKinney) and benefactor Gerry Ruschhaupt (McKinney) Annual scholarship--"Friends Honoring Gerry Ruschhaupt Scholarship"

Scholarship recipient Jonathan Hayot (left, Frisco) and benefactor Bob Warren (Frisco) "Living Legend Scholarship in Honor of Bob Warren"

Honoree Ben Thomas (left, Plano) and scholarship recipient Duane Thompson (Murphy) "Community Appreciation Scholarship in honor of Ben Thomas"

Benefactor Blockbuster, represented by Mark Donovan (right), and scholarship recipient Christopher McGee (center, Allen) and honoree Don Barclay (Allen) "Don Barclay Safety Achievement Endowed Scholarship"