Collin College Logo

Psi Beta Chapter, Advisor Receive National Awards

September 14, 2007 - The Collin College chapter of Psi Beta was honored with two national awards at the 2007 American Psychological Association national convention in San Francisco Aug. 18.

The Psi Beta National Honor Society in Psychology for Community and Junior Colleges awarded the Collin College chapter of Psi Beta second place in the Wadsworth Outstanding Chapter category and Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks, chapter advisor and professor of psychology, was named the 2007 Psi Beta/Virginia Staudt Sexton National Faculty Advisor.

Collin College Psi Beta members include: Amber Aleman (Carrollton); Alberto Burckhardt (McKinney); Katrina Caudill (Plano); Elizabeth Cox (Wylie); Craig Drayden (Irving); Deborah Hernandez (Plano); Jerry Howard (Princeton); Tatyana Kuperman (Allen); Joann Leroy (Plano); Hisham Masri (Murphy); Nasim Najafi (Plano); Elizabeth Oh (Plano); Sarah Oh (Plano); Cindy Padilla (Dallas); Jennifer Quinn (Carrollton); Misagh Rad (Plano); Muneerah Ramish (Plano); John Shick (Plano); Kelly Slawson (Allen); Kristina Valis (Plano); and Jennifer Whytlaw (Frisco).

The Collin College Psi Beta chapter was chartered in 1995 and the advisors are O'Loughlin-Brooks and Valerie Smith, professor of psychology.

The awards are given based on chapter and advisor commitment to achieving the mission of Psi Beta -- professional development of psychology students at community colleges through promotion and recognition of excellence in scholarship, leadership, research and community service.

For more information about Psi Beta, contact O'Loughlin-Brooks at or Smith at

Collin College serves more than 46,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.