Collin College Logo

Collin College Psychology Professor Receives National Award

Professor Jennifer BrooksMay 6, 2009 - A Collin College professor recently was presented a distinguished national honor.

Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks, professor of psychology, received the Society for the Teaching of Psychology Wayne Weiten Teaching Excellence Award.

The award is given annually to a professor of psychology at a 2-year institution, who demonstrates excellence in teaching, service and the scholarship of teaching and learning.

O’Loughlin-Brooks, of McKinney, has taught at Collin College since 2002. She is a co-sponsor of the Psi Beta National Honor Society in Psychology for Community and Junior Colleges.

Among other honors, O’Loughlin-Brooks was named the Texas Professor of the Year in 2006.

The Society for the Teaching of Psychology advances understanding of the discipline by promoting excellence in the teaching and learning of psychology. The Society provides resources and services, access to a collaborative community, and opportunities for professional development.

Collin College serves more than 46,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.