Collin College Logo
Honor Society Nets State Awards

Honor Society Nets State Awards

April 4, 2011 – Collin College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa – Alpha Mu Tau – took home a number of awards from the Texas Regional Convention March 3-6 in Round Rock.

Alpha Mu Tau was named the Most Distinguished Texas Chapter and also was recognized as a Five-Star Chapter, the highest level of academic achievement with Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.

Individually, student Wendy George received one of fifty Silver Scholarships presented by Coca-Cola annually, and Frank Mayhew, professor of history, received the Horizon Award for most outstanding Advisor for the Texas Region of Phi Theta Kappa.

Also, Anna Evans, Wendy George, Leopold Montgomery II, Corrie Harris, Mayraj Habibullah and Rachel Seida were elected to the Texas All-State Academic Team.

Gregory Shimko, was elected to the Texas Region Hall of Honor for Phi Theta Kappa.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,250 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions.

Membership is based primarily upon academic achievement. The organization offers a myriad of opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment and personal development through programs based on the Society's Hallmarks.

Collin College serves more than 51,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.