Collin College Logo

Collin College Tennis Squads Finish Year in Top 10 Nationally

Men's Tennis Team

Men's Tennis Team
(Back row, from left) Head coach Marty Berryman, Oskar Pokropek, Oscar Von Koch, Aristotle Chu, Kyle Rowe, Michael Tymkiw and assistant coach Rod Coltman; (front row) team manager John Boutell, Donavan McSeveney, Casey Clark, James Flores and Brady Bohrnstedt

May 29, 2012 – The Collin College men’s and women’s tennis teams finished third and sixth, respectively, in the nation for the season.

Also, Donovan McSeveney, of Plano, was named First Team All-American for singles and McSeveney and Brady Borhnstedt, of Rockwall, were named First Team All-Americans for doubles.

Women's Tennis Team

Women's Tennis Team
(From left, back row) Head Coach Marty Berryman, Regan Perme, Kristina Kinarkina, Sandra Pickerill and assistant coach Rod Coltman; (front row) team manager John Boutell, Jenny Cecotti, Sharron Clark, Kelsey Reblin and Zinnia Leamana.

The women finished sixth at the National Junior College Athletic Association women’s tennis tournament at Tyler Junior College, who won the national title.

The men’s national tournament was at Collin College’s Spring Creek Campus, where Laredo Community College won the title. It is their seventh national title in eight years. They tied with Collin College and Tyler Junior College in 2010 for the nation’s top spot.

The Collin college men last won a national championship in 2010, its only Division I title. It won Division II titles in 1990, 1992, 1993 and 1995.

Visit for more information.

Collin College serves about 53,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development.