All campuses are open and ready to serve students virtually, hybrid, or in person.

Collin College Announces Faculty And Staff Awards

Sept. 9, 2013 – Annually, Collin College formally acknowledges a number of its faculty and staff who further the college’s mission and vision through their demonstration of exceptional service and exemplary contribution.

The following individuals were announced as outstanding faculty and staff on Aug. 16:

  • Professor of the Year: Dr. Kyle Wilkison, professor of history

  • Associate Professor of the Year: Dr. Olga Amelkina, professor of music

    Collin College's Professor of the Year award recognizes outstanding full-time and part-time faculty based on peer recommendation, division recommendation and student evaluations.
  • Recognition of Service and Excellence (ROSE) Award

    Full-time: Rusty Bishop, interpreter

    Part-time: Carol Ann Kaplan, testing clerk

    Collin College's ROSE Award recognizes consistent application of the college's core values through service to the college, staff, students and/or public by Collin College staff members. The nomination and selection process is managed by All College Council.

  • Sam E. Roach Endowed Chair in Business and Engineering (2013-2014)
    Clay Randall, professor of Economics

    Clay Randall is the first recipient of the new Sam E. Roach Endowed Chair in Business and Engineering, which was created not only to honor former Collin College trustee Roach but to thank him for his unwavering commitment and outstanding leadership. In choosing the first recipient of this chair, the committee searched for an individual with the conviction that makes a good leader, the entrepreneurial drive that makes a successful businessperson and the commitment to service that creates an engaged and respected member of the community.
  • Lebrecht Endowed Chair for Scholarly and Civic Engagement (2013-2014)
    Dr. Lisa Kirby, professor of English

    Royden L. Lebrecht's $1 million gift was the largest from an individual philanthropist in the history of Collin. The Lebrecht Endowed Chair for Scholarly and Civic Engagement was established to recognize Lebrecht's commitment to education and the community. Lebrecht supported a number of charitable and civic organizations and believed that education created opportunity.

Collin College serves nearly 53,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and workforce development.