Press Release Header Image

Collin SBDC Recognized for Development Work

March 15, 2016 – The Collin Small Business Development Center has been recognized for its work in helping businesses achieve their dreams.

Collin SBDC Business Advisor Kelly DeWitt recently received two regional North Texas Small Business Development Center Network awards for having more than $5 million in small business credit and loans for fiscal years 2013-2015. DeWitt came to the SBDC in 2012 after working in banking and owning a business brokerage firm.

SBDC Business Advisor Alex Plotkin received a regional award for having more than $1 million in capital infusion, which was accomplished in Plotkin’s first full year with the Collin SBDC.

The Collin SBDC continues to exceed its SBA defined goals by helping clients:

  • access more than $11.5 million in capital infusion.
  • increase company sales by more than $8.6 million.
  • create 252 new jobs in our area.

“The Collin SBDC staff is a group of dedicated, forward-thinking, problem solvers that enjoy making an impact in our business community,” SBDC Director Marta Gómez Frey said. “I couldn't work with a better group of professionals.”

The Collin SBDC is located in Plano and is a partnership between The U.S. Small Business Administration, the state of Texas and Collin College. Through this partnership, one-on-one, strategic business consulting is provided at no charge to businesses and residents of Collin and Rockwall Counties.

Collin College serves nearly 52,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates in a wide range of disciplines. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development. In addition, the college operates the Collin Higher Education Center, which serves 3,300 additional students each year in partnership with The University of Texas at Dallas, Texas Woman’s University, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Tech and the University of North Texas.