News Release Header Image

Collin College Students Named Terry Scholars

Aug. 30, 2017 – Collin College recently had 10 students selected as Terry Scholars, adding to the 37 students who have received tuition assistance since the Terry Foundation introduced the Terry Transfer Scholarship Program in 2013.

The students plan to attend a variety of four-year institutions, including The University of Texas at Austin, The University of Texas at San Antonio, The University of Texas at Dallas, University of North Texas, Texas Woman’s University and Texas State. The students are: Kathryn Foshee of McKinney (UT-Austin), Ethan Frie of McKinney (UTSA), Samuel Grader of Plano (UTD), Lindsay Kline of Frisco (UNT), Tanae Nious of Converse (TWU), Chisom Ogoke of Plano (Texas State), Ruth Pineda of Little Elm (UT-Austin), Krista Reddy of Dallas (TWU), Nathan Sullivan of Plano (UNT) and Jazmine Torres of McKinney (TWU).

Terry Scholars are selected based on academic excellence, leadership potential and financial need. The Terry Transfer Scholarship for which Collin students can apply covers about 65 percent of off-campus costs of university attendance. A Terry Foundation official recently noted that Collin College students have typically done very well in its selection process. The Terry Foundation has partnered with Phi Theta Kappa, with chapters like Collin’s Alpha Mu Tau, because students who participate in that organization exemplify the traits the organization looks for in a Terry Scholar.

For more information on the organization and its scholarships, visit

Collin College serves more than 53,000 credit and continuing education students annually and offers more than 100 degrees and certificates in a wide range of disciplines. The only public college in the county, Collin College is a partner to business, government and industry, providing customized training and work force development. In addition, the college operates the Collin Higher Education Center, which serves 3,100 additional students each year in partnership with The University of Texas at Dallas, Texas Woman’s University, Texas A&M Commerce, Texas Tech and the University of North Texas.