Collin College Logo
Collin College - Points of Cougar Pride
Points of Cougar Pride
Collin College is very proud of its students, faculty and staff as well as the many achievements they earn over the year. This site highlights some of the awards, honor and other accomplishments that champion the college's core values.

Recent Additions

Staff and Faculty donated around 25-30 boxes of household cleaning products to The Samaritan Inn at our Bi-annual All College Day in August 2015.

Stephen Rogers, coordinator of Programs for New Students, was named to the Community College Advisory Board of The National Society of Collegiate Scholars. NSCS is the largest accredited college honor society in the U.S. NSCS provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service opportunities.

Collin College trustees voted to approve Dr. Neil Matkin as the community college's third district president, and officially welcomed him by commemorating the occasion with a group portrait at the monthly board meeting in March 2015.

Kris Berg, professor of music, has received Global Music Awards Gold Medals in two categories--Best Big Band Performance and Best Composition--for his recent CD release, "Time Management".

Congratulations to Collin College Women's Tennis team, Head Coach Marty Berryman and Assistant Coach Rod Coltman! The team finished 8th at the 2015 NJCAA Women's Division I Tennis National Championship in Tuscon, Arizona, one point out of 6th. This finish marks the 25th straight year in the Top10.

The Collin Theatre Center was selected for the 2015 Texas Excellence Award by the US Commerce & Trade Research Institute (USCTRI.) This award is determined by surveys and research to identify entities that have created success in the local industries and communities. The Collin Theatre Center is being recognized for having enhanced and contributed the community.

Amy Evans is now a Certified Fundraising Executive as she passed the CFRE exam this morning! The certification serves as an impartial, third-party endorsement by “CFRE International” gauging an individual’s knowledge and experience against worldwide standards set for fundraising professionals exhibiting the highest standards of ethics, competence and service to the philanthropic sector.

Former Collin College President Cary IsraelFormer Collin College President Cary A. Israel will receive the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award at Phi Theta Kappa's 97th Annual Convention, NerdNation, Friday, April 17, in San Antonio. The award is given to retiring college presidents, campus chief executive officers and state community college directors based on outstanding support provided to Phi Theta Kappa. Israel was nominated by PTK's local chapter.

Collin College student Joel Mason was recently elected as the Texas Junior College Student Government Association (TJCSGA) president, making him the first student in the college’s history to serve in the role. Comprising leaders from among 72 junior colleges in the state of Texas, Mason’s election is a notable achievement. His term will run for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Collin College student Vu Phan won the Southwest Region for the Student Math League competition and student Seungjoon Kim finished third.  This competition was sponsored by the American Mathematical Association for Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC). Vu Phan will also be honored by the Texas branch, TexMATYC as the highest-scoring student in Texas.

Collin College students Diana Fuentes, Craig Hartnell, Mary Layton, Cody Peterson, Aaron Rothlisberger, Ashton Shinedling, Waldo Silva and Chris Weber were selected by Johnson Space Center as Texas Aerospace Scholars. Mary Layton and Cody Peterson were members of the winning design team, and Aaron Rothlisberger was selected by NASA as Scholar of the Week.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society named two Collin College students, Michelle Davis of Allen and Alexa Acosta of Plano, to the exclusive 2014 All-USA Academic Team. On stage, Davis and Acosta joined 18 college students from across the country who were selected from more than 1,700 nominees.

Current Points of Cougar Pride

Points Of Cougar Pride Archive