Collin College Logo
Points of Cougar Pride - Hall Of Honor 2007-2008
Hall Of Honor 2007-2008
Dr. Rosemary Karr accepted the highly-coveted U.S. Professor of the Year award Nov. 15, 2007 at a Washington D.C. ceremony sponsored by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. Her award is considered the pinnacle of collegiate teaching, and she competed against professors from community colleges across the nation to earn it. Dr. Karr has been on faculty at Collin College for 17 years.

Collin College President Cary Israel’s vision and leadership have catapulted Collin College to national recognition. Dr. Israel was recognized with the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Award for the Western Region by the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). Dr. Israel was one of five regional winners for ACCT, a national organization of the governing boards of community colleges. This is his second recognition by that organization. He received the CEO Award for the Northeast Region in 1996.

Collin College’s Young Adult Council of the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) was named the National Council of the Year at the annual national convention in Chicago in July. This is the second year in a row that the Collin College LULAC council has won this honor and the third since 2003. Additionally, Lupita Tinnen, professor of photography, was named the LULAC Young Adult Advisor of the Year at the national competition. This is the third straight year that a Collin College LULAC advisor has won this honor and the fourth since 2003. The Collin College LULAC has witnessed success before sweeping the 2003 and 2006 national LULAC awards. Both the Young Adult Council and Tinnen were given the same awards at the regional and state competitions earlier in the year.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching named Collin College Professor Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks the Texas Professor of the Year. Her honor is the second Professor of the Year accolade won by a Collin College instructor. Theatre professor Brad Baker was named U.S. Professor of the Year in 2000. This puts Collin College in company with Rice and the University of Texas at Austin as Texas institutions with multiple winners.

Collin College took home a national honor for its dedication toward community service - Collin College was one of a number of colleges and universities from around the nation named to the first ever President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll. The initiative is a response to U.S. President George W. Bush’s call to service by supporting the nation’s college and university mission to civic engagement and service learning.

Collin College's University Partnership program was the first in Texas to allow enrollment at a community college and select universities. Current university partners include Austin College, Baylor University, Dallas Baptist University, Texas Woman's University, Southern Methodist University, The University of Texas-Dallas, University of North Texas, Texas Tech University, Texas A&M University and Texas A&M-Commerce.

Collin College graduate Adele Bailey was named to the first team of the All-USA Academic Team by Phi Theta Kappa, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA Today. In the last five years, three Collin College students have been named to the All-USA Academic Team.

Collin College's Alternative Teacher Certification Program was one of only 10 in the nation to receive a Teaching By Choice Award from the American Association of Community Colleges. Collin College's Alternative Teacher Certification Program was the first of its kind at a community college in the nation.

Collin College was a founding member of the Texas Campus Compact and was named Regional Site for the Texas Campus Compact.

Service-Learning Program received the national Collaboration Award from the Campus Compact National Center for Community Colleges for its partnerships with business and industry.

Collin College was awarded a national Bellwether Award for its leading-edge Service Learning and Learning Communities programs.

Current Points Of Cougar Pride
Points Of Cougar Pride Archive