Collin College Logo
Points of Cougar Pride - Individual Honors and Awards 2008-2009
Individual Honors and Awards 2008-2009
This page highlights the various awards and other honors received by Collin College faculty and staff.

Individual Honors and Awards

Collin College President Cary Israel was named the national Pacesetter of the Year by the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) at the national conference in Kansas City in March.

Yeomen, Sharecroppers, And Socialists: Plain Folk Protest in Texas, 1870-1914, by Kyle Wilkison, professor of history, won the Texas Historical Commission's T.R Fehrenbach Book Award.

Professor Sabine Madriguera was invited by the Public Affairs Section of the U.S. Embassy to perform as a representative of the United States at the annual International Guitar Festival in Lima, Peru. She also presented master classes at the ICPNA in Arequipa, the ICPNA in Cusco and the San Critobal University in Ayacucho while in Peru.

Marty Berryman on being selected as the NJCAA Region V Coach of the Year.

Debra Lamb, advisor, was named the 2009 Woman of the Year by the Business and Professional Women of Dallas, Inc.

Paula Miller, professor of accounting, received the Texas Society of CPAs (TSCPA) Outstanding Accounting Educator Award. Miller will be presented the award and a $1,000 prize at TSCPA’s Accounting Education Conference in October.

Mark Kaufmann, professor of commercial art, won a 2008 Lone Star Emmy as executive producer of Allen City TV’s “The Adventures of … David Chicken.” The Lone Star Emmy awards, presented by The Texas Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, honor the best television programming in Texas’ 19 television markets.

Current Points of Cougar Pride
Points of Cougar Pride Archive