Collin College Logo
Points of Cougar Pride - Outstanding Students 09-10
Outstanding Students 09-10

Richardson-based Vent-A-Hood presented scholarships to Collin College students Brian Butler of Wylie and Lucero Serrano of McKinney.

Jesus Valdivia, student and president of the League for United Latin American Citizens was named Texas LULAC State Young Adult Man of the Year.

Tennis player Damian Hume, the No. 1 ranked junior college player in the country, won Flight One singles and becoming the 2010 NJCAA Men’s National Singles Champion.

Michael Urie, former Collin College student, won a Drama Desk Award as part of the ensemble of The Temperamentals. The Drama Desk is an organization of theatre critics, writers and editors that honors excellence in all areas of New York theatre, Broadway, Off-Broadway, Off-Off-Broadway and not-for-profit.Urie also won a 2010 TheatreWorld Award for his work on the Off-Broadway show, “The Tempermentals.” The TheatreWorld Awards are given annually to the top performances from actors making their New York stage debuts.

The dental hygiene class of 2010 had a 100 percent pass rate for the 2010 National Dental Hygiene Board Exam.

Students Lauren Kallas and John Lemay of Collin College’s Psi Beta chapter participated on two panels at the Southwestern Psychological Association annual meeting in San Antonio in early April. The pair were the only community college students selected for the panels at the conference.

Tennis player Rodolfo Bustamante became Collin College’s third NJCAA men’s First Team All-American by winning the Flight Four singles title.

Collin College culinary students came out big winners at the Greater Dallas Restaurant Association’s Scholarship Awards Dinner, April 22. Wil Wibur was awarded a $5,000 scholarship to attend Texas Woman’s University in the fall. Meeting and event planning student Pamela Kerns was awarded a scholarship to cover expenses to the Meetings Professional International Conference in British Columbia this summer and Karen Bolanos received a $1,000 scholarship from the Research Chefs Association. Collin College is the second-most selected school after the Culinary Institute of America for incoming college students.

Lisa Smith, former student, had her photographed voted as the grand prize winner in the Texas Monthly “Bucket List” cover contest.

Pamela Kerns, culinary arts student, received a scholarship to attend the Future Leaders Forum in Vancouver over the summer.

Charles Collins, nursing student, was elected as the northern director of the CNSA Texas at a conference in San Antonio.

Collin College dental hygiene students received first- and third-place honors for their table clinics at the Texas Dental Hygiene Educator’s Association and Student Dental Hygiene Association annual meeting in February. The first-place table clinic was titled "Saliva as a Diagnostic Tool: Early Cancer Detection". The topic was researched by Jennifer Jackson and Shaina Dickson. Jackson received a certificate of recognition and a trip to present at the American Dental Hygiene National meeting in Las Vegas, in June. The third-place honors was titled "Coenzyme Q10 in Periodontal Therapy,” by Bridget Blaylock and Joslyn Dodge.

The Mock Trial Team received a bid to the opening round championship in St. Louis due to their results in the Houston Regional Tournament in February. Competition included more than 600 teams in regional tournaments around the country. Until last year, no two-year institution had advanced in the American Mock Trail Association collegiate tournament; now Collin College has received the invitation for the second year in a row.

Members of Colin College’s chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta -- Kirsten Bloss, Philip Fullman, Meghan Nelson, Richard Poindexter III and David Winn – were accepted to present their work at the Sigma Tau Delta/Sigma Kappa Delta International Convention in St. Louis. Two of our students have been invited to make two presentations.

Chris Burt, Collin College photography student, had his photograph "Route 66 Remnants" published in Texas Highways

Students Mita Are and Daniel Relix from the Center for Advanced Studies in Mathematics and Natural Sciences (CASMNS) have had their demonstration published on the Wolfram Research website. The demonstration is titled “Strips of Equal Width on a Sphere Have Equal Surface Areas.”

Collin College student Frances DeArman has been chosen as Mrs. Collin County International 2010. DeArman will represent Collin County at the 2010 Mrs. Texas International Pageant in San Antonio in March 2010 where she will be competing for $15,000 in cash and prizes and a chance to proceed to the Mrs. International competition in July 2010.  DeArman serves as the treasurer/PR representative for the Active Minds Student Organization at Collin College.

Collin College’s Damian Hume won the ITA National Small College Championships in Mobile and was awarded the 2009 James O'Hara Sargent Sportsmanship Award..

Collin College’s Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE) won two awards home from the SIFE United States Regional Competition in Philadelphia. They were second runner-up in the opening round and named National Rookie of the Year. This positioned Collin College SIFE as a top-12 community college team nationally.

Ashley Parivar was crowned Miss Texas United States 2009.

Hospitality-culinary arts students Maite Palma, Cindy Cash and Barbara McCauley have earned the designation of Certified Tourism Ambassador.

A trio of Collin College nursing student received scholarships from the Foundation of the National Student Nurses’ Association, Inc. Ying Cui, of Plano, and Julie Rosentel, of Allen, were each awarded the Promise of Nursing for Dallas/Fort Worth Scholarship. The scholarships total $1,500 each. Linda Franklin, of Celina, was awarded the McKesson Scholarship from the Foundation for $1,000. All three students are due to graduate in May 2010 from the Collin College nursing program. Since 1974, the Foundation has awarded over $2 million in scholarships to undergraduate nursing students. Founded in 1952, NSNA is a nonprofit organization for students enrolled in associate, baccalaureate, diploma, and generic graduate nursing programs. It is dedicated to fostering the professional development of nursing students.

Current Points Of Cougar Pride
Points Of Cougar Pride Archive