Collin College Logo
Points of Cougar Pride - Faculty and Staff Appointments
Faculty and Staff Appointments 2011-2012

Bobbie Long, executive director at the Central Park Campus library, was asked to participate on the National Institute of Health and National Library of Medicine Task Force focusing on outreach to community colleges. Long is one of two community college library directors asked to be involved in the project, a national initiative for the years 2011-16 from the National Library of Medicine working through the Regional Medical Libraries.

Dani Day, associate vice president for Teaching and Learning, has been elected to serve as president of the Texas Community College Instructional Administrators Board of Directors.

Dr. Amina El-Ashmawy, professor of chemistry, was invited to serve as a member of the new American Chemical Society's Two-Year College Advisory Board. Dr. El-Ashmawy has also been invited to serve as the chair of the board for an extended one-year term.

Candace Eldridge, professor of speech communication, was elected to serve on Phi Theta Kappa’s Alumni Advisory Council during the Society’s 2012 Annual Convention in Nashville April 12-14. The Alumni Advisory Council is made up of Phi Theta Kappa alumni, both appointed by the Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director and elected each year by alumni attending the Annual Convention.

Carie Dippel, assistant director of Academic Advising and Student Success, was chosen to serve on the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board's statewide academic advising work group that will develop an assessment/evaluation instrument for academic advising in the state.

Amy Lenhart, counselor, was selected as Texas Outstanding Counselor of the Year by the Texas College Counseling Association at its annual meeting.

Lisa Huang, Allied Health Sciences librarian, was voted chair-elect of HealthLINE, a Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex organization of librarians and information professionals involved in the health and medical field. HealthLINE includes institutional members such as UT Southwestern Medical Library, UNT Health Sciences Library, Texas Health Resources Libraries, and corporate members such as Alcon Research Labs and Mary Kay, Inc.

Dallie Clark, professor of humanities, was elected the new president of the Southwestern Division of the Community College Humanities Association.

Don Weasenforth, professor and dean of Developmental Education, was selected to serve on a statewide six-member leadership committee for the Texas Developmental Education Initiative.

Counselor Amy Lenhart was elected to the Board of the American College Counseling Association.

Dr. Elaine Zweig, chair and professor of child development, was reappointed to the North Central Texas Workforce Development Board by the Texas Workforce Commission.  She also serves as Workforce Development Committee Chairperson.

Current Points of Cougar Pride
Points of Cougar Pride Archive