Collin College Logo
Points of Cougar Pride - Individual Honors and Awards 2012-2013
Individual Honors and Awards 2012-2013

Collin College Women's Basketball Coach, Jeff Allen, was announced as a finalist for the 2013 Russell Athletic/WBCA Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year award. Coach Allen was one of eight finalists.

Chef Michele Brown was formally inducted into the Epicurean World Master Chef Society, an organization of professional chefs focused on education, competition, and charity while promoting the culinary industry around the world.  Chef Brown also recently won the title of TCA Pastry Chef of the Year 2013, for both the city and state at the Texas Culinary Association’s convention in Fort Worth.

Dr. Rosemary Karr, professor of Developmental Education-Math has been selected as a fellow with the Council of Learning Assistance and Developmental Education Associations (CLADEA).  Dr. Karr will be inducted at a ceremony in Houston. CLADEA fellows are recognized for their “lifetime contributions and national/international influence within the field of postsecondary learning assistance and developmental education.”

Counselor Amy Lenhart has been elected to the board of the American College Counseling Association (ACCA), a division of the American Counseling Association (ACA). Lenhart began her third year of a three-year term in July 2012 as an ACCA member-at-large.

English Professor Shirley McBride was selected to receive the Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge National Awards Program – George Washington Honor Medal – for her work in educating the nation’s youth about the country’s rich heritage, principles and unique freedoms.

Denise Thatcher Collin’s CNSA President was elected to chair the Texas Council of Schools Presidents’ Committee and Kelli Jones was nominated to run for TNSA Vice President.

Visual and Performing Arts Professor Tiffanee Arnold has been appointed the National Board of Directors of the American College Dance Festival Association for the South Central region.  She will serve a three-year term that extends through June 2015.

Current Points Of Cougar Pride
Points of Cougar Pride Archive