Individual Honors and Awards 2013-2014

Dr. Terry Hockenbrough, Director of the Center for Scholarly and Civic Engagement, received the Distinguished College Administrator Award from the national Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Dr. Hockenbrough was one of only 25 college administrators in the U.S. to receive the honor. The Distinguished College Administrator Award is given to college vice presidents, deans or leaders other than college presidents and CEOs serving in an administrative capacity who have demonstrated a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa during their tenure.

Professor of political science H. Jessica Hargis and professor of music Gary Evans were two of thirty Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society advisors to receive the 2014 Paragon Award for New Advisor. The Paragon Award for New Advisor recognizes advisors across the United States who have served less than four years and have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter’s advocate on campus and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional, and/or international level of the organization.

Central Park Campus Reference Librarian Lisa Huang was named a Rising Star and accepted into the Rising Star Program of the Medical Library Association.  She is the only community college librarian to receive the award.  The one-year leadership program was developed for members who are interested in leadership roles in the association.

Director of engineering technology Dave Galley received “The Wylie Way Award” from the Wylie Independent School District Board of Trustees for his work on technical dual credit pathways that prepare Wylie students for success with college and career awareness and readiness

Professor of Nursing Virginia “Gini” Holter was recently published in a noted academic journal.  Her article “Content analysis of continuing education for cervical cytology” was published in the International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare 2013.

Lisa Huang, Allied Health Sciences Librarian at the Central Park Campus, was awarded second place and a $100 prize from the juried Elizabeth K. Eaton Research Award poster presentations at the South Central Chapter/Medical Library Association Annual Meeting.  Ms. Huang’s research was on “HealthLINE: Capturing the pulse of its members.”  In addition, she recently had her fourth article accepted by the Nursing and Allied Health Resources Section newsletter this year.

Professor of Developmental Reading Pam Sawyer represented Collin College as the recipient of the Gladys R. Shaw Professional Development Award at the College Academic Support Programs’ (CASP) recent conference in Amarillo.

Sonia Iwanek, Professor of Political Science, was honored by the American Political Science Association as an Outstanding Professor of the year Finalist at the 2013 APSA Reception honoring teaching on August 30th in Chicago.

Dr. Amina El-Ashmawy, Professor of Chemistry at the Central Park Campus, has been selected as a 2013 American Chemical Society Fellow. She is one of 96 fellows from across the nation to be named as a member of the 2013 class and one of only two from community colleges.