Outstanding Students 2013-2014

Collin College student Joel Mason was recently elected as the Texas Junior College Student Government Association (TJCSGA) president, making him the first student in the college’s history to serve in the role. Comprising leaders from among 72 junior colleges in the state of Texas, Mason’s election is a notable achievement. His term will run for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Collin College student Vu Phan won the Southwest Region for the Student Math League competition and student Seungjoon Kim finished third.  This competition was sponsored by the American Mathematical Association for Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC). Vu Phan will also be honored by the Texas branch, TexMATYC as the highest-scoring student in Texas.

Collin College students Diana FuentesCraig HartnellMary LaytonCody Peterson,Aaron RothlisbergerAshton ShinedlingWaldo Silva and Chris Weber were selected by Johnson Space Center as Texas Aerospace Scholars. Mary Layton and Cody Peterson were members of the winning design team, and Aaron Rothlisberger was selected by NASA as Scholar of the Week.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society named two Collin College students,Michelle Davis of Allen and Alexa Acosta of Plano, to the exclusive 2014 All-USA Academic Team. On stage, Davis and Acosta joined 18 college students from across the country who were selected from more than 1,700 nominees.

Chance Sharpsteen received the Gold Award from Habitat for Humanity of South Collin County.  Chance has performed over 1,500 hours of community service on behalf of Habitat.  He answer phones at the Plano ReStore, but has also, with the help of fellow Collin students, worked on building a home for a challenged home owner.  Chance’s presentation of his Service Learning project at the college was picked for one of ten presentations to all participants and helped him earn a Collin College scholarship.

Professor of Criminal Justice Stephanie Abromoske-James, student John Wangler of the Collin chapter of the Student Veterans Association of America, and Collin Foundation Board member Shep Stahl have been awarded the U.S. Congressional Veteran Commendation.  A total of 14 veterans from our region were recognized at the Third Annual Commendation event hosted by U.S. Congressman Sam Johnson at the Spring Creek Campus on December 14.

Collin Student Bobby Arrington contributed 605 service learning hours to “Hope for the Silent Voices,” a non-profit organization serving underprivileged children.  He created an Android application for agency advocacy and contact information.

Three students from Collin’s Respiratory Care Program have received Education Recognition Awards for Undergraduate Students from the American Respiratory Care Foundation. Student Stewart Morrison was the recipient of the Morton B. Duggan, Jr., Memorial Education Recognition Award and $1,000; Kanokon Raksriaksorn received the Jimmy A. Young Memorial Education Recognition Award and $1,000; and Tracy Bedarreceived the NBRC/AMP William W. Burgin, Jr., MD Education Recognition Award and $2,500.