All campuses are open and ready to serve students virtually, hybrid, or in person.
View College COVID-19 Information

Psychology

 

CollinBrain

Whether you hope to become a psychology major and have a life long career in psychology, or whether you are looking for a fun elective with world-class faculty, Psychology has a course for you. Welcome to the Collin College Psychology Page!

 


Central Park (McKinney Campus) Full Time Faculty

 

Matt Diggs

Matt Diggs

972-548-6757

Office: B224

Email: mdiggs@collin.edu

 

Matt Diggs earned his Associates Degree at Collin College, his Bachelors degree at the University of North Texas and his Masters degree at the University of Texas at Dallas.  Professor Diggs serves as the district discipline lead for psychology across the district.  He is an avid sports fan and travel hacker.  When he is not in his school office or home office, he is often planning his next vacation or cheering on one of his favorite sports teams.  His psychology interests are abnormal psychology and developmental psychology with a focus in Emerging Adulthood.  

SharonPicture

Dr. Sharon Eaves

972-548-6567

Office: E214

Email: seaves@collin.edu

Dr. Sharon Eaves earned her Ph.D. in cognitive developmental psychology from Louisiana State University in 2010. She has researched how working memory and short-term memory function in children and adults. She has also researched how auditory distractions, such as cell phone sounds, can distract learners, and how different styles of note-taking can affect long-term memory. She teaches Learning Frameworks, General Psychology, and Lifespan Development. She has lived and taught in Louisiana, Ohio, and Nacogdoches, TX before moving to McKinney, TX and teaching at Collin College in 2017. Her hobbies include reading, baking, and spending time with her family.

Ingeborg Saenz

Email: isaenz@collin.edu

 

 

 

Preston Ridge (Frisco Campus) Full Time Faculty

 

  TracyMeyerHeadshot

Tracy Meyer

972-377-1653

Office: J224

Email: tmeyer@collin.edu

Professor Tracy Meyer received her MS in Counseling from California State University, East Bay in 2002 and her MA in Psychology from University of California, Riverside in 2004. She has worked as a therapist and social worker but found her love for teaching was what inspired her the most. Prof. Meyer has been teaching psychology at community colleges since 2005 and has been at Collin College since 2008. Her research interests are in developmental psychology and human sexuality.

Collegiate Academy Instructor (Frisco)

Therese Ogle

Email: togle@collin.edu

 

Kim Gerber Headshot

Kim Gerber

469-365-1911

Office: U140-B

Email: kgerber@collin.edu

Dr. Kim Gerber earned her Ph.D. in Psychology at the California Graduate Institute and her M.A. in Psychology, at Pepperdine University. She has worked as a clinical psychologist since ’93, in private practice, clinics, and hospital. Her love of teaching psychology was first sparked at Loyola Marymount University, where she was part of their adjunct faculty for 5 years. It gave her the opportunity to share her love of the field and help students understand this fascinating science. Dr. Gerber has been a part of Collin College since 2017, after she relocated to Texas, with her family. She was originally born here and is happy to be back. Dr. Gerber’s primary areas of interest in psychology are abnormal and social psychology, attachment theory, cognitive-behavioral research, and life-span development. In her free time, she loves to spend time reading mysteries or relaxing with her husband, son, daughter, and 2 dogs.

Elizabeth Hamner Headshot

Elizabeth Hamner

Phone: 972-377-1989

Office: Founders Hall, RM 171

Email: ehamner@collin.edu

Dr. Hamner graduated with her BS in psychology from Texas A&M University. She completed her MS and PhD from the University of North Texas in 2016. Dr. Hamner has a research background in religion/spirituality, and she loves helping and teaching students how to reach their goals through psychology. She grew up in the great state of Texas and enjoys cheering on all of her Texas sports teams (Aggies, Cowboys, Mavs, Rangers, Stars), spending time with her family, her husband and daughter, and friends.

 

Spring Creek (Plano Campus) Full Time Faculty

Josh Arduengo

972-881-5757

Office: L262

Email: jarduengo@collin.edu

  • B.A. in psychology, Texas Tech University
  • M.A. in experimental psychology, Texas Tech University
  • Ph.D. in Cognition and Neuroscience, University of Texas at Dallas

Joshua Arduengo’s main area of training is in memory, particularly eyewitness and traumatic memory. As a full-time faculty member at Collin College he teaches several different courses including general psychology, human lifespan psychology, and learning frameworks. His current area of interest is in the history of psychology, particularly the area of psychedelic research and the potential that these often-misunderstood substances hold for humanity. Dr. Arduengo also serves as a volunteer for The Turning Point Rape Crisis Center of Collin County as a trainer on the neurobiology of trauma. He frequently interacts with law enforcement to help officers better understand human behavior during traumatic events. Additionally, he is sometimes called upon to serve as an expert witness for both the state and the defense. In his spare time, he coaches his daughter’s baseball team and works out in a futile effort to keep up with his more-athletic spouse.

DanHeadshot

Dan Lipscomb

972-881-5715

Office: H252

Email: dlipscomb@collin.edu

  • MS, Pittsburg State University (1987)
  • BS, Southwestern University (1985)
  • Professor of Psychology, Collin College (1990 - present)
  • Instructor, Indian Hills Community College (1987 - 1990)

Current Courses Taught: General Psychology, Social Psychology, Psychology of Personality

Previous Courses Taught: Abnormal Psychology, Death and Dying

 

Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks

Jennifer O-Loughlin-Brooks

972-578-5512

Office: L267

Email: jbrooks@collin.edu

Jennifer L. O'Loughlin-Brooks is a Professor of Psychology and also serves as national president of Psi Beta Honor Society, the national honor society in psychology for 2 year colleges. She received her MS in Experimental Psychology from Emporia State University and graduated from Texas Christian University with a B.A. in Psychology and Speech/Communications.

Jennifer is committed to mentoring undergraduate research and has enjoyed accompanying students to regional and national psychology conferences over the years. Student research topics have comprised civic engagement, lucid dreaming, sexuality, service-learning, animal assisted therapy (AAT) and criminal behavior.

Barbara Stern

Barbara Lusk-Stern

972-548-6809

Office: L261

Email: bstern@collin.edu

 

B.S. degree, major in psychology, University of Alabama
M.S. degree in clinical psychology, with a sub-specialty in forensic psychology, University of Alabama
Clinical Psychologist, Mental Health Services, Grayson County for ten years
Professor of Psychology, Collin College, from 1988 to present

Research interests: History of psychology: brain, biochemistry, and behavior; memory; intelligence testing; boundary work

 

 Stallings

Steve Stallings

972-578-5532

Office: G222

Email: sstallings@collin.edu

Professor Stallings completed his undergraduate work at the University of Oklahoma and his graduate work at the University of North Texas. His background is in Counseling Psychology. Areas of interest include Psychopharmacology, Attachment and GLBT issues. In his spare time, he enjoys binge-watching Netflix with his fiance, gardening, singing and playing with his two dogs.

 

 

Wylie Campus Full-Time Faculty

 Rose Headshot

Michael Rose

972-548-6544

Office: LA212 (Through Summer 2020)

Email: mrose@collin.edu

Mike graduated with an undergraduate degree in Criminal Justice with a focus in forensic crime scene investigation with a interest in glass fracture and blood splatter patterns. While working towards the degree he worked as a Corrections Officer at Estelle High Security. Professor Rose went on to complete a graduate degree in psychology with a strong physiology, neuroscience, and research methodology focus. His research interests are in human memory at the cellular level, long-term potentiation, and adult neurogenesis in the dentate gyrus. He also has non-specific research interests in ethology and alelliomemetic behavior.

Mike has served in the past as Chair of Psychology, Sociology, and Mathematics at the Central Park Campus. He has also served as the Director of Collin College's SACSCOC ten-year accreditation and currently stands as a reviewer. In addition, he serves on the THECB Psychology Field of Study Committee as a field representative for the state.

 

 

Technical Campus (Allen) Full Time Faculty

Henry Canfield

Email: hcanfield@collin.edu

 

Collin College Associate Faculty

Carolyn Benson

Email: cbenson@collin.edu

DeShanda Blair

Email: dblair@collin.edu

Martha Francis

Email: mefrancis@collin.edu

Heather Graham

Email: hgraham@collin.edu

Robbin Holley

Email: rholley@collin.edu

Kendra Hamilton

Email: kahamilton@collin.edu

Carolyn Pravatta

Email: cpravatta@collin.edu

Karen Newby

Email: knewby@collin.edu

Kim Tanuvasa

Email: ktanuvasa@collin.edu

Lindsay Ballinger

Email: lballinger@collin.edu

Jane Bednarz

Email: jebednarz@collin.edu

Joel Butler

Email: jabutler@collin.edu

Brittany Harp

Email: bharp@collin.edu

Diana Kyle

Email: dkyle@collin.edu

Jed Harris

Email: jlharris@collin.edu

Tracy Jones

Email: trjones@collin.edu

Brittany Strauss

Email: bstrauss@collin.edu

Samuel Russell Vaden

Email: rvaden@collin.edu

Patricia Coble

Email: pcoble@collin.edu

Tamatha Gager

Email: tgager@collin.edu

Jenny Garner

Email: jgarner@collin.edu

Kimberly Gist-Miller

Email: kgmiller@collin.edu

Alexander Langley

Email: alangley@collin.edu

Mitzi Morris

Email: mkmorris@collin.edu

Katerina Nair

Email: knair@collin.edu

Theresa Ogle

Email: togle@collin.edu

Mahnaz Shahbazi

Email: mshahbazi@collin.edu

Michael Lindsey

Email: mlindsey@collin.edu

Stephanie Tyson

Email: styson@collin.edu

 
Top