All campuses are open and ready to serve students virtually, blended, or in person.
View College COVID-19 Information
To qualify for federal and state financial aid (grants, loans and work-study funds), students have to meet certain requirements.
General requirements include:
- Be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen
- Have a valid Social Security number
- Have a high school diploma or a recognized equivalent such as a GED certificate or
completed high school in a home-school setting approved under state law
- Be registered with Selective Service if you’re a male (you must register between the ages of 18 and 25)
- Be enrolled in a degree or certificate program that has been approved for financial
- Meet satisfactory academic progress (SAP) requirements
If you are not a U.S. Cititzen or eligible non-citizen but you graduated from a Texas
High School. You may qualify for a Texas Public Education Grant. You should submit
a Texas Application for State Financial Aid (TASFA).
The federal Pell grant program is limited to six years of full-time enrollment, or
its equivalent. You can check how much Pell Grant eligibility you have used by visiting https://nslds.ed.gov/npas/index.htm. In addition, students who have earned a Bachelor's degree are no longer eligible
for Pell Grant.
The federal Stafford Loan program limits eligibility for the subsidized loan to 150 percent of your program's hours. Additional information regarding this limit
can be found at www.studentloans.gov
In order to be eligible for certain types of aid, you must meet enrollment requirements:
- With the exception of Pell Grant and FSEOG, students must be enrolled and attending
at least half-time to receive their financial aid. In some cases, such as a high expected family contribution
(EFC), even students who are designated Pell Grant eligible would not be eligible if they were only enrolled in one class.
For financial aid students (NOT VA students), half-time is 6 credit hours.
- Students' classes are considered eligible for financial aid if:
The student is enrolled and attending as of the census date of the semester, and
The class is required for the student's degree or certificate program, and
For repeat classes, the student has only taken and passed the class 1 other time,
If developmental, the student has not exceeded 30 hours of developmental
Contact Us | Financial Aid Calendar | Consumer Information | Financial Aid Forms