All campuses are open and ready to serve students virtually, blended, or in person.
View College COVID-19 Information

Collin College Department of Music

Welcome Music Students!

Music Department Mission Statement
The Department of Music Field of Study Program trains students in the skills necessary for successful transfer to a four-year institution in order to complete a baccalaureate degree. We do this by focusing on the student as an individual, a member of a team, and a contributor to the community of musicians and music educators.

• As performers students learn to present themselves professionally while performing standard music repertoire.
• As members of Collin music ensembles, students learn to work in groups towards a shared musical goal of realizing a public performance of ensemble repertoire.

Ultimately, the Department of Music Program enriches the local and regional community by training skilled musicians as music teachers and by serving as a regional hub of music activities hosting faculty, student and professional recitals as well as supporting other community activities including music festivals and educational organizations.


Vocal contacts
Choirs – Classical, Jazz & Pop: Professor Kathy Morgan   kmorgan@collin.edu
Classical & Commercial Voice, Opera Ensemble & Class Voice: Professor Casey Carter   ccarter@collin.edu

Instrumental contacts
Classical Guitar & Guitar Ensemble: Dr. Fernand Vera   fvera@collin.edu
Composition & New Music Ensemble: Dr. Chris Morgan   cmorgan@collin.edu
Instrumental Jazz Combos & Jazz Lab Band: Dr. Alex Heitlinger   aheitlinger@collin.edu
Piano & Keyboard Ensemble: Dr. Brian Allison   ballison@collin.edu
String Ensemble: Charles Andersen   candersen@collin.edu
Symphonic Wind Ensemble: Professor Travis Smith   trsmith@collin.edu
General Instrumental: Dr. Alex Heitlinger    aheitlinger@collin.edu


Click here for Spring 2021 Music Event information.

 

Instrumental Music Information
Music Calendar
Faculty and Staff Music Department
Vocal Music Information
Commercial Music Information
Jazz Camp and Jazz Fest Information

 

 

 

Top