All campuses are open and ready to serve students virtually, blended, or in person.
View the College COVID-19 Restart Plan

Strategies of Behavioral Intervention (SOBI)

SOBI logo

RRR


 Mission Statement

SOBI will respond to distressed and threatening behavior in order to thwart and redirect behavior that might otherwise undermine instruction and negatively impact student learning.

Purpose

Collin College's Strategies of Behavioral Intervention (SOBI) Committee serves as a central network focused on preventive and timely intervention before a crisis arises. SOBI has designed a process that reflects the best practices for referring, assessing, responding to, and assisting students who may display various levels of distressed, disturbed, and/or unregulated behavior.

SOBI is a resource for Collin College faculty, staff, and students through which they can report student behaviors of concern.

What to Report

Unregulated Behavior details Red Flags
Anything that causes concern
Increased stress levels

SOBI idea man

Threat of Suicide
Distressed Behavior
Depression Abusive Behavior

Click here to submit a SOBI Referral.

 

SOBI Committee Members

Executive Committee  
John Glass, Chair 972.377.1622 jglass@collin.edu
Millie Black, Associate Chair 972.378.8465 mdblack@collin.edu
Carolyn Braswell 972.377.1735 cbraswell@collin.edu
Terrence Brennan 972.881.5604 tbrennan@collin.edu
Carie Dippel 214.491.6222 cadippel@collin.edu
Matt Geracie 972.881.5820 mgeracie@collin.edu
Joe Guy 972.578.5561 jguy@collin.edu 
Amy Throop 972.881.5667 athroop@collin.edu
     
Frisco Campus  
Stephanie Abramoske-James 972.377.1698 sjames@collin.edu
Kim Gerber 469.365.1911 kgerber@collin.edu
Cheri Jack 972.548.6771 cjack@collin.edu
     
McKinney Campus  
Ketia Bradley 972.985.3769 kbradley@collin.edu
Cathleen (Catie) Brooks 214.491.6231 cbrooks@collin.edu 
Toni McMillen 972.548.6513 tmcmillen@collin.edu 
     
Plano Campus  
Tiffanee Arnold 972.881.5830 tarnold@collin.edu 
Maegan Beasley 972.578.5561 mbeasley@collin.edu
Kristi Clark-Miller 972.578.5535 kcmiller@collin.edu
Melissa Solomon 972.881.5128 msolomon@collin.edu 
Chief Scott Jenkins, Ex Officio Member   972.578.5579 sjenkins@collin.edu
     
Wylie Campus    
Gisela Sanchez 972.378.8361 giselasanchez@collin.edu
Top